Gala Theatre - Group of Latin American Artists
About Gala
ArteAmerica Series
Paso Nuevo
Special Events
Educational Outreach
Opportunities at GALA
Staff and Board of Directors
Sopport GALA
Press Room
Playbill Advertising
The Venue - TIvoli
Contact us -  Directions
Virtual Tour
Buy Tickets
Social Media
You Tube

View our E-newsletter

GALA´s programs are supported in part by the generous gifts of the following CORPORATE PARTNERS


Contact Us     |     Home     |     Spanish
Staff and Board of Directors

Abel López
Associate Producing Director

Abel López has served as GALA's associate producing director for over 25 years, during which time he has produced more than 65 shows and directed another 25, including the company’s first hit production of Kiss of the Spider Woman (1993) that won numerous awards. Lopez’s recent directing credits include  El Canuto del Rock (2009), La edad de la ciruela (2008), Agustín Lara: Boleros & Blues (2008), Tu ternura Molotov (2008), Elliot, A Soldier’s Fugue (2007), Los pecados de Sor Juana (2006), Real Women Have Curves (2005) and Mexico: Noches Bohemias (2004).  López has also directed productions for Arizona Theatre Company and In Series, among other performing arts and cultural groups.  Currently, he sits on the board of directors of National Association of Latino Arts & Culture (President), Americans for the Arts (Vice Chair), Association of Performing Arts Presenters (Treasurer), Helen Hayes Awards, Black Women Playwrights Group, and Performing Arts Alliance. He has served as Chair of the D.C. Commission on the Arts and Humanities, Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation, Theater Communications Group, Leadership Washington, League of Washington Theaters, Alliance for Inclusion in the Arts, and the Performing Arts Alliance. His contributions to the arts have been recognized with the Richard Bauer Leadership Award from the Washington Performing Arts Video Archive (2002), Selena Roberts Ottum Award from Americans for the Arts and the National Endowment of the Arts (2001), and The Washington Post Award for Distinguished Community Service at the 1990 Helen Hayes Awards. He is a graduate of Harvard Law School, is an adjunct professor at George Mason University, and on the faculty of the NALAC Leadership Institute.

Back to Staff page